how would you define a nervous nellie?

minkersmum

Aug 4, 2009
Scotland
I've always considered myself a nervous nellie. BUT recently ive met people much more nervous and wonder if my nerves not so bad as i once thought.

Do i sound like a nervous nellie or just a sensible beginner;)

I feel nervous and excited everytime before i ride. Not once i'm riding just before. Like butterflies. Not sure if this happens because i'm so excited (sad git) or nerves.

I'm not more nervous if its a horse i've never ridden or one i know to be more forward.

I love cantering. If i had a lesson/hack without a canter id be disappointed.

I love a good gallop altho haven't had the opportunity to gallop for sometime.

Been told i have nice relaxed position/look when riding by RI

I am nervous about riding BIG horses, always think there is such a great distance to fall.

I feel nervous on a horse with poor brakes or who is spooky.:eek:

I know i'm a beginner/novice but do i sound like a nervous nellie??

Sometimes when i've been to places for a hack i feel i've sold myself short as i ham up the nerves to them and then it end up being a bit boring and i'm dying for more.:D

Bit of a pointless thread but thought id ask anyway:)

Perhaps you could devise some sort of nervous-o-meter!

You sound as though you have a healthy amount of nerves for an adult novice. I'd expect a younger learner to have less nerves in general. I guess the key is have the nerves ever stopped you doing anything you wanted to do?

Perhaps I should add that this is coming from a confident speed demon with a general lack of understanding for nervous nellies, that's not to say I dont empathise, I just find it hard to sympathise!

Only thing my nerves stop me doing is rushing out and buying a horse of my own, oh and riding my friends 17.2hh 5 year old. Thats it.

Well I think you should leave the Nervous Nellie Club immediately/!!!!:mad:;)