Veteran Inhand Showing Class as a complete beginner!

Fen

Nov 10, 2014
Hello All

Please can anyone advise me. I've had my arm twisted by a younger friend, also with a veteran, to (if we are allowed out) take our neddies to a local show at the end of June. We are going to be in the Inhand Veteran Class. My girl is a Connemara, 15hh, 20 plus years old, retired. She is hogged and I keep her tail tidy although not strictly pulled. We have never been showing before as we have had a happy life of hacking and I am wetting myself at the thought of it already :D
Please can someone older (that will be hard!) and wiser (that won't be hard) advise me as to our wardrobes? Madam normally goes in a happy mouth snaffle and a cavesson.
I'm looking for All The Information Please, from what do I wear, fit, colour etc, to her tack, colour etc! Just assume I know nothing (I don't!) and go from there please!
I can't thank you enough x

I think if her tail is neat enough it will be fine. How come she's hogged? (just being nosey). I think beige trousers and a white shirt for yourself (from memory at the local show here) and either a waistcoat or jacket (depending on how hot it will be where you live). I think at low level as long as you are smart and neat there isn't a very strict dress code. Probably short jodh boots in black or brown would be fine. My friend shows in hand every year at the local show here and generally wears beige jeans / white shirt and short boots - she does have a brown tweed jacket for cooler days too. I'm sure there are lots of people on here that will know more.