Trouble when cantering

Lolabelle227

Oct 5, 2021
Hi! So background info about me: I’ve been riding for nearly 3 years now. I started when I was a kid and gave it up after 3 years, but took it back up as an adult and here I am now with another 3 years of experience. After riding four (and briefly a fifth) different lesson horses for the past 3 years, and gaining lots of confidence with all aspects of English riding (jumping, XC, very very basic dressage etc) I decided to buy a very quiet, honest and beginner friendly 15 year old cob who had experience being used in lessons.

About her:

Dottie is 15 and 15.2 hands. She has just the right amount of go in her, is very safe and would never do you any wrong or endanger you in anyway. She is the sweetest ever!

So now the reason why I’m writing this:

In a walk and trot, she is a dream. She listens to me and can steady up or speed up when asked. However in the canter there is a serious lack of control.

The transition into canter is fine from both a walk and a trot, however after about 3-4 strides she drifts out on me and doesn’t listen to my aids like she does in my walk and trot!
  • Her hind end drifts towards the inside of the arena and we end up basically cantering at an angle. I have tried to get her bum back in by using my inside leg in behind the girth and outside leg at it, inside rein slightly opened and outside rein with firm contact. Still doesn’t listen even though she listens to these aids in a trot?
  • Speed is an issue, she won’t steady up for me she’s either completely in race cob mode or back into a trot. I’ve tried sitting deep, sitting back, using my hips, even calming her by talking to her but the second she hears ‘woah’ or ‘steady’, or any pressure is put on by the reins to collect her or slow her down she’s trotting again.