Tell me about lunge lessons...

HaloHoney

Apr 30, 2017
There are several instructors at my RS- I've only ever had one of them. I only started riding again in September after a 17-year absence (due to lack of money, lack of confidence, and being considerable fatter than I had once been). I'm now looking at getting a horse on working livery there. One of the other instructors watched me ride in my lesson (we were sharing an arena with her lesson) and on hearing me say "my balance needs to improve" said "you need a lunge lesson". This instructor is very direct - much more so than my regular one! I'm now bricking it.

So I booked in for a couple of weeks' time to have a lunge lesson with her. I've no idea what to expect (beyond a 45 minute lesson on a lunge line).

Please can any of you enlighten me so I can get my big girl pants on and pretend I'm not scared?

Thanks in advance!

Lunge lessons are hard work but brilliant. Because you don't have to worry about your hands at all (because the RI controls the speed and direction of the horse) you can focus, focus, focus on your seat, legs and position.

What you do will depend on what you need, but I would expect it to be great learning.

If you are having a lunge lesson from a skilled instructor to improve your balance that is an excellent idea and there is no need to be anxious.
Can you work out why you feel scared? The riders of the Spanish riding school were taught on the lunge for a year, and I myself learned my best riding from a teacher who taught that way. In my case her aim was to improve my balance to make me safer out hacking. Because I was already in my 60s.
She started by teaching students how to sit in the saddle in order to feel the movement of the horse. Most of the first lessons would be in walk and when we were well balanced in walk we progressed to trot. Mostly sitting to the trot.