Starting a new journey

Melrose

Jan 23, 2012
Okay, here's my thoughts that have been milling around in my head for a while now and after reading a few recent threads, have really made me just THINK hard about what to do and how to go about things and i'd like your opinions on whether you think I should or not.

So here goes my complete honesty and horsey life story!

I started riding lessons aged 8. Half an hour private, once a week. I did this for about a year and then stopped. Started again at 11 in a group lesson with my 2 friends and an instructor that liked to talk more than ride (we'd sit on the horses listening to her and not moving and then start riding for the last 10 minutes of our lesson!) so I didn't progress dramatically. Once I got to aged 14, I found myself better than I could have thought. I was in a more advanced riding group and we were jumping around 2'6 each week for a few months though I don't feel i've got the jumping 'style' and 'technique' as i've never had PROPER riding lessons at the stage where I was learning to jump.

I got a loan pony at the point of learning to jump who was up for hacking, light schooling etc. so I never really started to jump properly. Since then i've had 3 loan horses; none of which were up for jumping and were more the hacking types. I am a fairly confident rider. I don't worry if a horse spooks or starts to jog off with me but I do feel I am lacking something and i'm not sure what?! :unsure: I've always doubted my riding and put myself down which i'd rather do than big myself up, look stupid and ride something that wasn't suitable for me but on the other hand, I feel this trait about me may hold me back from progressing..