Show help

Ex-racer

May 24, 2007
Suffolk
Hi,
I have never done any showing before but want to show my youngster this year. She's a part bred arab and will be 1 next month. What shows/classes should I be looking to put her in? When do they start? Where do I find out about them? What will she have to do? And what will we both have to wear? This is her:

demi-1.jpg

Any other information or tips would be greatly appreciated, I have no idea what I'm doing! :confused::eek:
Thanks

She's lovely. She'll obviously be eligable for inhand coloured classes, part bred arabs and classes for youngstock. How big is she expected to make? She wouldn't look out of place in hack/riding horse youngstock classes too if she's going to make over 14.2hh.

You find out about shows by asking around, picking up schedules at local tack shops, searching online (eg theridingdiary.co.uk) and Horse and Hound have 3 show editions at the beginning of the show season which you might want to look out for because they list loads of shows.

You should be in a tweed jacket with a shirt, coloured tie, hat (beagler/bushman's hat etc) trousers and boots you can run in, plus gloves and a cane. She should be in a leather inhand bridle (bitting not needed at this age) with leather lead. She will need to be able to walk, trot and stand up inhand. Go and watch a few shows (preferably inhand ones) before you take her so you know exactly what you'll be expected to do.

Definately youngstock, part bred arab and coloured classes.

She has lovely markings, and I agree with dannityla about the browband. Definately keep it plain so that the focus is on her markings.

I would go with brown tack. It tends to be preferred by judges and will go better with her colouring.

I would keep the bridle nice and fine. She is a fine horse so you dont want to cover up her features with big thick nosebands etc. Dainty horse - dainty tack.

And plait her up, leave the tail natural