Please can anyone help me

ebonyallen

Apr 19, 2009
I have been riding for over 40 years and 6 years ago I had a riding acident and broke my leg they tried for 4 years to save the leg with operations and cages but then an infection got in and it was loose the leg or my life, they had to take the leg off above the knee with means a false leg which goes all the way up to my bottom. My horse also broke her leg just before they removed mine and together we have both recovered and with out her I would not be here she is the reason I make myself get up each day she needs me little does she know how much I need her. I made my mind up to ride again and now am at the stage where we go out on hacks with other horses and can trot, but my confidence has taken a big knock I feel unbalanced and the leg is not that comfortable to ride in cos it digs in and hangs over the edge of the saddle, my lower leg moves back and the foot slips to the back of the stirrup. to name just a few of the problems.
Can any one suggest anything I could try to make things a bit better, my problem is I can not find anyone to talk to that has the same problem, below knee have spoken to a few but not above, I know I can not be alone but I really feel that I am,want so much to get better and do the things we always did and I feel that I am letting her down.
I muck out and do everything for her depending on the weather conditions but want to do more and just can not find the help.
Went to a local RDA but they only had mentally handicaped people and could not help me, sorry to go on but just need some help from someone please any ideas would be great.

Just wanted to say how sorry I am to hear of your problems. Sorry can't offer help. Don't know where about in the country you are but their is a fabulous R.D.A centre at The Calvert Trust in Keswick in the Lake District. They cater for everyone including amputees. Even if you are not near them maybe you could give them a phone and ask for some advice.