People who are slightly scared of horses

MillTakSaff

Buckley BMX Crew!
Feb 12, 2009
Buckley
what advice could u give for some one who is a bit scared of boisterious horses, as id like to get over a bit of fear ive rode a horse [not properly ill admit] i prefer jus walkin or brushin a horse to ridin.... advice please?

When i started riding late last year i was slighlty scared of horses and still am if i am honest if i come accross horses i don't know.. but i find that time is the only thing that works time spent with as many different horses as you can! I would never put myself at risk around a "naughty" horse until i felt confident enough to deal with anything it threw at me... but every min i spend around well mannered horses the more confidence i have and the less scared i get around not so well mannered horses

sorry for thw waffle hope that makes sense

TBH I think that every person is to a degree; few, if any, are 100% confident and happy riding every type of horse. people doubt themselves, lack self confidence or the ability, the oppotunities ... which is more than ok! If you don't want to do something, then don't do it just because you think you ought to. :) Just do what you feel happy and comfortable with.

x

Welcome to New Rider and congrulations on your first post! :D

What I would give someone who is slightly scared of horses is more knowledge :)

That person would benefit from learning how to read what a horse is thinking and feeling and be better able to predict their next move.

They would also benefit from learning how their body language can be used with great effect too. :)

I have to agree I dont think anyone I know has absolutly no fear, even if they arent necessarily aware of it!!

I know lots of people who just have ponies as "pets". I dont think any less of them and thinks its great they get joy out of them. I also know a few who work as "yard grooms", dont ride and thouraghly enjoy themselves.