Newly graded any advice on what is next please?

juniberry

Jul 20, 2008
Devon
Until 18 months ago I was a medioca dressage rider I got my TB ex race horse to the regionals BD at Novice and the Nationals trailblazers and happily did up to medium at home. I had a hanovarian 17hh coming along ok in unaffiliated. Then I sliped and torn a wrist ligament, hospital fixed it but didn't notice the infection and now I have minimal use of my left hand and wrist. So I started affiliated on my gelding this spring and we do ok with a few points and placings. One big downfall is the judges coments suggesting (but in nicer terms) lovely horse shame about the rider due to my poor rein contact. Also I fell off a lot when I started riding after the accident as my balence is altered from what it was because of not using my arms the same. So after a few suggestions from trainers and friends I headed off to Hartpury last Friday and met Chris Meaden and a lovely assesser from Norway (I think sorry if that is not right) and now I am officially a garde IV rider. I know that means I can ride one handed, with loops, bar and whip. Well apart from the whip thing no idea how the others work in dresage or even what they are (a bar is for drinking isn't it). I found a depressing forum on another site where everyone was talking about wanting to be graded higher to get more support. Well I would rather not have had my accident and I definatly don't want to be in more pain for anything. Loved this forum as you are all so positive and supportive wish I had read before going to Hartpury so I could have watch some of you doing so well.