newbie here needing some advice (long)

jan mathues

Apr 18, 2008
Illinois
Hello everyone!! VERY excited I found this place! I am clueless about horses first of all. My boyfriend grew up with one and thinks he knows all but I can see he must of had a wonderfull horse as a child cause we are having some problems that he doesnt know what to do about or even who to ask. We now have Ellie who just became a momma 6 weeks ago and she is perfect!! She has been on 2 trail rides with us and other than being young (3) and not used to different things she great. Doc is 12 I think and he is a sweet heart but doesnt like our newest horse Drifter who is 7 and was traded to us for our biting horse sonny. Drifter is a kicker! So instead of getting bit now we worry about getting kicked. I think I want Sonny back. So we are in deep with Drifter cause we traded Sonny and $500 and now we are clueless what to do. We took some advice cause it sounded good but it actually made the problem worse. The colt by the way is coming along nicely. We didnt get a chance to mess with it from the start like we were told to do cause I was very sick and Jason had to deal with work and kids but now we can halter him and rub on him. He doesent want to walk with us on a lead yet but slowly he is coming around. Before I ramble on, a big question I had was how to put weight back on the 12 year old. We had hay all winter but I found out the other day the guy we were buying it from wouldnt feed it to his cows but was selling it to us. Not sure if that has anything to do with it but Doc is skinny now and we have kept them all wormed so now we are just moving him around the pasture and feeding hay (he doesnt want hay now). What can we do to get him back up or do you think time in the pasture will fix it? Wish I could find my cord to the cam and I would show you my babies, Thanks for reading my long post!!!