newbie here, canter probs

noodle

May 29, 2007
Essex england
www.waggy-walkers.co.uk
Hello everyone, I am have real problems with cantering and tonite took my first fall, I feel so comfortable trotting ect but the few times I have tried to canter i nrly loose my stirups so find myself pushing toes to floor and feel like i am just bouncing up and down in the saddle, I am trying not to grip with my legs as i know this can push the horse on, but then find my legs are just flapping, can anyone give me some support please.
I ended up tonite hanging off the outside of the horse, and unable to pull myself back up,{didnt know what to pull myself up with}but i did know not to use the martingale!
Noodle x

Last edited:
Try to relax whilst cantering and follow the movement of the horse with your hips ( might not make sense, sorry :eek: ) Also put your weight into your stirrups. Have you tried doing troting with no stirrups as this can help your balnce loads! Good luck, just ask if you need me to explain any of that better! Also welcome to New rider!

Vez xx :)

Well the riding I am doing is at at a riding school, I want to learn so much, now I know I am going wrong somewhere, I am really comfortable with rising trot but sitting trot again feels like I am just bouncing about on the saddle.
I think I am not rotating my hips? I am ok with the rising hip movement though
Noodle x
Felt so bad cos I was riding my fav horse {17 hands} and fell of her!, hope she didnt think it was something she did xxxxxx

it has taken me 5 months to get canter right...all thanks to my RI suggesting i try and think about a spacehopper to get the movement. it may not be correct but it works! i can now canter and my horse responds. where once i could not keep her going we can canter until she runs out of steam! my lovely bay mare is now a big bay spacehopper!! :D :D :D