New Horse owner, Need advice.

Sass&Dash

Apr 25, 2022
Hi everyone! I'm a new rider here, ok- let's get to the point here. I'm getting ready for my first ever horse (In a couple years.) and I need some advice, I've been riding horses since I was maybe 5 years old? and I'm a barrel racer, I go to horse shows a lot but I'm getting to experience for my old lesson pony. So, I'm thinking about buying my own project barrel horse. Now, I understand how that taking lessons and owning a horse is very different, Vet bills, unexpected injury's, no vacation, feed bills, and all the time that it takes to own one. I understand this isn't going to be easy, but that's why I'm here, First question.

1. Should I buy a trailer? they aren't cheap and is it even worth it, we are probably going to be going to barrel races a lot, we may borrow one of our friends trailers I know they wouldn't mind.

2. Which stable would be the best?
60f86674d565df80e70a351b72ffb7f5--horse-stalls-horse-barns.jpg

3. Or this one? 6ca2cfbf414b391e76f2eb8a5033c080.jpg

One more question, we think "straw" grows out in our field but now realizing straw is dried stalks of grain. We are asking the people who cut it what it is, I don't think its hay? But we are figuring that out. Thank you please tell me any tips and tricks I need. I will be posting a lot of forums showing my journey.

A project horse is not a first horse. You need to be looking for a seasoned horse for your first, you are right there is a huge difference between a lesson horse and having your own, getting an inexperienced horse for your first will just make it twice as hard to make the transition and it is already plenty hard enough. You also need to consider that horses are herd animals and shouldn't be kept alone, so if you are planning to have it on your own property you would need to get a friend for it also, which means 2 of everything.