My poor pony is lame!!

Mary Poppins

Oct 10, 2004
Visit site
Well, it should really read my huge horse is lame!

Got to the yard tonight to find Ben had either been kicked, or had an accident in the field. Apparently him and his best friend escaped last night and it looks like he may have jumped something (there are loads of x country jumps around) and caught his back leg. He has a gash of about an inch on his hind leg. There is some swelling and it was obviously sore when he picked it up. We trotted him up and he was lame.

I didn't really know what to do as I was on my own, so I got the yard manager out (at 8:30pm at night!) who advised that I cold hose it for 15 minutes and then turn him out as normal. They will look at him in the morning and go from there. Hopefully he will just need a few days rest and it will be OK, otherwise I will get the vet to look at it.

Does this sound about right? I have never dealt with a lame horse before and I feel like a total novice. What it has done is made me realise just how much I have fallen in love with him. I just want to make him better and not in any pain.

Oh no, poor boy... It's hard to say as havent seen the injury - it totally depends on where the wound is, how deep it is etc etc .....

I take it his tet jab is up to date? I'll assume it is as I think you're like me in that respect!

The one thing I will say is, if your gut says its not happy and is telling you to seek a second opinion - then do so.

Yep, jabs are all up to date. I'm not overly worried, the YM is very experienced and thinks that it just needs some rest. He wasn't hopping lame, just obviously uncomfortable. I watched him graze for ages and he seemed very happy out in the field with his friend. It's not really very deep and had scabbed over by the time I saw it.