keeping the energy when collecting

heonk

Aug 27, 2022
ive been riding for 6-7 years now id say im pretty adequate at a lot of things. i ride without a trainer most of the time now. im more like my own trainer now im aware of the mistakes i do and things i need to correct and so i base my lessons on that and also on what my pony needs to improve on.

i have an issue that when i collect the horse or get him on the bit his head down yk he slows down so basically the energy goes down and im not always sure how to keep on pushing him forward. i know its like u use ur legs to push his hind like using ur seat but he ignores my leg a lot. i think this is partly just due to him having been ridden with spurs. does anyone have any tips to keep the horse going forward even when collecting or such?

also i grip with my knees a lot unintentionally. i notice it and i stop but idk why my body does it how do i improve that

Sorry but you need a trainer who can see what is happening and help you.

If you're losing energy when you ask him to come on the bit and collect then you're almost certainly using too much hand and too little leg, assuming you have a correct active pace to begin with - if you don't then you have no business asking him to come on the bit never mind collect yet. If you're gripping with your knees then you won't be using your legs or body effectively and are sending conflicting messages to him so work on that first and forget about the rest until you are correct. A few lunge lessons may help, you and your trainer can focus on you and then when you get the feel of how you should be you can then take it off the lunge and onto your general riding.