Is it harder to work with larger horses

Sp1cer

May 18, 2004
West Lothian
www.facebook.com
Hi,

Im a complete beginner at looking after horses, Im in an excellent yard where you get training by the hour on horse care/riding where Im planning on having 6 hours per week training on horse care / handeling and 2 hours per week on riding. Currently Im sharing a georgeous 15.1 piebald, but we have just bought our own horse who is a 17.1 shire x tb (needed a big one as my partner is very keen and he is 6ft 4) anyway, he arrived at the yard today and when he came out of the lorry i was handed the lead rope and oh how nervous I was he was just huge! Im only 5ft 2 and worried stiff that I wont be able to handle him.

Pam

Its all about technique and confidence. I have handled Clydesdales without a problem and I am just under 5ft tall....I also know a very small lady (probably shorter than me, and very tiny built) who has a full yard of horses from 14.2hh-17.2hh who are all in total awe of her and do everything she says :) In fact apart from practical considerations such as getting bridles on etc (you will probably need a box to stand on ;) ) larger horses are often easier than ponies as they take twice as long to decide to do anything and have a much longer wheel base which takes twice aslong to turn..whereas a pony can be up to mischief before you have even realised:rolleyes:

Our 16.1hh cob is much easier to handle than the ponies - he is so easy and gentle and slow to move and they are always thinking up mischief :rolleyes:

The key thing with handling horses of any size : always make them move, rather than you. ie if they try to run you over, stand your ground (if safe to do so) and growl at them/flap arms or whatever and make them stop rather than you moving. Never move out of their way, always make them move over for you. Getting this respect issue sorted at the start makes life much easier later on..