Help- lunging!

Nicnac

Jan 2, 2008
Devon
Hi everyone

I wasn't sure whether to post this in the Training of the Rider or Horse sections?! I think its a combination of both Tia and I really.

I have been lunging Tia for a few weeks in readiness for her to be ridden again. I am a lunging novice, having had a few lunging lessons with a RI last year. Tia seems to have issues in her downwards transitions from trot to walk. I am slowing my voice, keeping it downbeat, if that makes sense, and trying my best to do exactly what everyone told me, but she still has problems. She also doesn't stop but goes round and round, slowing down, then eventually comes to a standstill, but I'm not sure whether she's listening to me or whether its because she gets bored.

Can anyone help or recommend a good DVD/Video clip to watch? She is a bright horse, so I am a bit surprised that we are having so many problems, although clearly it could be because I am rubbish! I've even tried walking her round the school and telling her to 'stand' or 'whoa' which she does but I think that's because she sees me stop and has good manners!!!

This is probably not the correct thing to do, but... if she is not listening, reel her in whilst walking towards her at the same time. She will suddenly notice the difference and as soon as she does, ask her again, firmly, what you want her to do. She should do it then! If not, keep reeling her in until she has to stop, let her pause, make her walk on as if nothing is abnormal. Let her walk outwards again, and carry on. See if that makes a difference :)

I don't know if this will work as my lunging is a mix of lunging and longlining - tbh not sure I do lunging the correct way.