Hello, I'm a newbie

Dazzle

May 27, 2016
Devon
Just wanted to introduce myself and say how glad I am to have found this forum! I've recently started having riding lessons again after stopping riding when I was a teenager (some 30+ years ago). I've found the experience a bit of a roller coaster and I'm relieved to find I'm not alone. I've had 6 half hour lessons now and simply loved it from day one. However, I had thought much of the technique would be stored somewhere in my head and would all come flooding back, but no...

I'm finding it incredibly challenging and at times I get so upset with myself because I feel that I'm not improving. I found this forum because I was exasperated after another lesson where I simply could not get the horse to stay in a trot. I'm about to start cantering but it seems crazy when I can't even get her trot most of the time. I googled for some advice and found many posts on here where people appeared to be experiencing similar problems to me. I am constantly being told by my instructor to keep my leg on, and like others I don't really know what it means! It's brilliant to know that it's not just me and that this is something most learners wrestle with. I look forward to learning a lot from you all here!

Hello and welcome.
It's a very friendly site, you'll get lots of encouragement here.

I think you may find that asking your horse for canter, will actually improve her trot afterwards. My pony has an amazing trot after we have done canter work...it seems to make her so much more forward and enthusiastic.
Looking forward to hearing about how you get on in future lessons.

Hi welcome to NR :D you definitely aren't alone in that one, I've been riding over 30 years and have occasionally gone to a RS for a lesson while on holiday or whatever only to find I have the same problem :p RS neds can be challenging at times :p

Hi and welcome :)