Grass livery vs DIY

Lottie86

Aug 6, 2012
North Aberdeenshire
Hi,

We're considering the idea of getting a pony later in the year for my little boy and I to share (he's very specific and for months has been signing to us what he wants to call it and even informing us what breed of pony it is he wants :giggle:)

If we do go ahead with looking for a pony the one thing I'm not sure about is whether to go for grass livery or DIY livery (DIY at our local yard includes hay, straw, and them either turning out or taking in with a rug change at whichever one they do if needed)

I'm currently thinking the DIY option might be better for us as the YO has said if I can't make it up to the yard because either of our children are in hospital (they're disabled with complex medical issues) or anything then she does ad hoc full livery for DIY horses for an extra few pounds a day and I thought it might also be better, especially whilst I am brand new to the yard and also brand new to owning a pony, for getting to know people at the yard as the horse I currently part loan is at grass livery and I hardly ever see anyone.

I'm drawing up a list of pros and cons to each option so I was wondering if any of you would be able to let me know what you would think the pros and cons are of either or both options as no doubt there are things I haven't thought of.

Thanks in advance xx

Grass livery is cheaper and as long as there is shelter in the field would probs be the better option especially if you need to do things in a hurry. You can always arrange for someone to check on them and fill water etc and it needn't be a totally horsey person as they wouldn't need to handle the horse.

DIY you do everything yourself obviously and will cost more in livery then even more if you need to have ad hoc full livery.

Does the yard you are considering do both options? I would see how you get on with grass livery to start with and if it doesn't suit your needs try DIY.