Jun 12, 2019
Illinois
I’ve been riding for a little over six years now and I may be getting my first horse soon. Prior to this I’ve used the horses the stable provides and I’m used to grumpy, older horses.

He’s a 16hh three year old thoroughbred gelding, son of Raison d'Etat. With a very sweet personality and calm temperament, as well as being extremely eager to please. A direct quote from his trainer- “He tries to always answer the question, even if he doesn’t know the answer, he has a heart of gold.” He has his basics in hunter/jumper but still isn’t fully sound in them, and would need someone to help build his confidence and reinforce needed behaviors. He’s also not spooky even in new environments.

I’m 5’3”, but still have a few inches to grow and strongly prefer larger horses, they give me confidence. I’m a beginning jumper, and again have ridden for six years, in addition I’ve managed to become very close with one of the rudest, brattiest mares on the premises and at least friendly with all but a small few of the other horses, and the stable has at least 22. I am always gentle yet firm when working with and riding the horses, and not afraid to reprimand unacceptable behavior, such as pinning ears or pulling to get to some grass, with only necessary harshness.

Do you think he’ll be too hard for me? Do you think he’ll be a good match for me? Or do you think I’d do better with a different horse?

Any tips on training would also be greatly appreciated.