Fed up with my RDA school.

laura jeanne

Jan 7, 2004
USA
Visit site
How can you explain a volunteer organization that continually disregards offers to help when I know they could use the help??

The latest incident: the person in charge of the horses (wrangler) is vey ill but my offer to help exercise the horses has gotten me nowhere. A couple of weeks ago, when I went to groom my "buddy" horse, he said that the new instructor had to see me ride first. So this weekend, the new instructor was there but she said that the wrangler had to see me ride. I mean, I have been riding for 6 YEARS!! And all you have to do really is mount, walk/trot.

I am so disgusted. They will have to beg me to help next time they need something. There is no excuse for continually passing the buck and not ever being ready to accept the help that is offered.

Doesn't sound that unusual or unreasonable to me. It's quite easy for a person to over-judge their own riding ability, and one person's 'riding 6 years' might mean 3 times a year on a friend's horse, another person's might mean riding daily for 6 years. Some RDA horses while a breeze in RDA can be quite different in a different context, and they rightfully want to be sure you are up to the job. Also a person might have been riding 6 years but be very heavy with the whip or on the bit, and they certainly don't want their horses messed up.

IMO you should accept that your offer to help will be taken up if they can verify yours and the horses' safety, and be glad to be involved with a responsible and organised setting.

Karen