Dressage to music report...

Mary Poppins

Oct 10, 2004
Visit site
Hello everyone - it feels like ages since I have posted on here. My life has been crazy over the last few weeks with illness everywhere that I go, but tonight I had a break and competed in my riding clubs yearly dressage to music competiton.

I love dressage to music - I love getting the music together, planning the routine and then performing when no-one knows what you are going to do. I rode my regular RS horse and we were the only cob among an array of posh dressage horses - most of which were the riders own horses. I hadn't been able to practice my routine or even test that the music suited my horse, but luckily it all came together. The music fitted and my horse really felt that he was dancing. After the competiton we sat in the restroom and watched all the tests back on video. For the first time ever, I didn't feel that I looked like a complete novice, I actually looked OK.

The icing on the cake was that I won my class, and got the second highest score overall. I am really pleased and I know that this post sounds very big headed and boastful, but I haven't had much to be positive about recently and this has made my day.

It also made me realise that I agree with what many of you have been telling me - when I eventually get my own horse (which now looks like next summer), I do want something that I can compete and get out and about with. I'm thinking that maybe this enforced break in my horse hunting may be a blessing. My confidence is really starting to grow and I while I will always be a cautious rider, I'm starting to think that perhaps I'm not as rubbish as I previously thought that I was.

For those reading, have some of my wine and nachos (but be quick - they are almost gone!)

Well done MP! Sounds like a fab evening - and what a result! You must be so pleased.:angel: