curb bit for shying, bolting, bucking? *big horse*

Status
Not open for further replies.

ridergal

Oct 1, 2008
Looking for advice from trainers/riders who ride big 18hh horses only pls.:)

I ride a huge, wellbuilt 18hh horse. He is well trained. walks trots canters, flying changes, all beautifully. But one problem: when he shies, I come off balance, he bolts and as I stop him, bucks. No big deal - on a smaller horse - that's happened to me many times. But this honkin horse is so big and powerful that I can't get the head up and when he shies, I'm a goner (a Big step sideways).

I have been riding for many many years. Thoroughbreds, arabians, appys, quarter horses, mixes ...etc. Both western & english. But this one stumps me:

Advice?

I thought a curb bit had an action which would lower the horse's head :confused:
If this is so, it probably won't help you much when bucking ...

I would suggest rather than changing the bit that you need to work on desensitizing him from the monster and gaining his trust and respect throuhg groundwork....reducing the shies and the bolts.

The curb chain will lower the head so will be ineffective during a buck. Its not about hauling the head up, its about riding a horse through a buck to stop it..;)

Ridergal no bit is going to solve this problem, it's up to the rider to deal with it.

Firstly you need to keep him sufficiently focused on you & his work that he hasn't the time to look for things to shy at. Yes, there may still be the odd thing that genuinely startles him but he shouldn't be shying on a regular basis.