Cantering out on a hack

majormajor

Nov 3, 2007
Dear fellow riders,

I feel almost too embarrassed to ask this question, but what is the "official" way of cantering on a hack? (Not in the school, out in the fields!)

There is a long story behind the question. I have been riding for about 3 years now, I started riding as an adult (I was nearly 40 then) and fairly soon I got addicted to hacking out. Sure enough, I had had lessons as well, where I learnt how to walk, trot and canter, but I found that going on a hack was far more fun, so basically that's what I do. My local riding school was quite happy to cater for this, so I have had a lot of fun and continue to do so. Also, I must admit I am at best a mediocre rider which does not bother me at all. Treat me as a true enthusiast with very basic skills.

Now we usually have a lovely long canter during the hack. (In fact, the very first time I cantered was on a hack. Boy, it was better than...a lot of things;)) Now it's all very well that in the school you are supposed to sit throughout the canter but I read in my daughter's pony magazine (no joke, seriously) that you are supposed to take a "light seat" position during an extended canter. Great! So what do I do? Well, both. On some horses I ride, it feels quite OK to remain sitting even on an extended canter, although I must admit I feel a bit concerned about the horse's back, so usually halfway through I take up the "light seat" position. On other horses, sitting does not feel right somehow, so I take the light seat position throughout the canter. I am OK with either really but what is it really that I am supposed to do? Sitting seems nicer from the point of view that I feel more "connected" to the horse, whereas my insticts say that the light seat is more comfortable for the horse.