Balancing reins - are they draw reins??

nelle

May 27, 2005
South East
I've been away and my YO has been riding my pony for the week, she came to me today and explained she has been using a balancing aid, she called them balancing reins with him as he leans heavily on the right rein. It's kind of like a marigale but has a pulley system which attaches to the bit (I think).

I had a go and he felt amazingly light in my hands not leaning at all. However I'm a bit worried that this contraption is the dreaded draw reins that are so frowned upon on here, I'm a novice rider and looking through past posts on the subject someone has writen that in the wrong hands they can ruin a horse in 20 minutes - can anyone enlighten me please?

PS - they are coming off tomorrow and if they are draw reins they won't be used again.

draw reins generally attach from the chest or girth up through the bit and back to the rider's hands - they are normally used to bring the head down and tend to overbend the horse.

if your horse leans on the bit i can't see how they would help :confused:

How they work:
The balancing reins are an elasticated version of the draw rein. Traditional draw reins attach to the girth between the horse’s legs, passing through the bit ring and attach back to the roller. They encourage the horse to work in a long and low outline, releasing tension in the back muscles, enabling the horse to swing through his back. These balancing reins are kinder than draw reins, because the elastic has some give and the horse will not be in a fixed position. Take great care, adjust gradually and never over-tighten.

How to fit: