Are trailers safe?

Libby12345

Jun 5, 2015
Hello,
I was looking into buying a little lorry, as I was always told trailers were "too dangerous" - but as the cost of lorries and then the tax and insurance is high it doesn't look likely that I will be getting one anytime soon!
So are trailers safe? I believe that they are if driven safely, I will be taking my trailer test beforehand.
I have been looking at the ifor Williams 506 as this looks like a much more sturdy and bigger box than all the others - however what are others recommendations?
Also what's the best vehicle to tow with? I currently have a land rover, freelander td4 but I would never tow with this as they're not heavy enough.

Thanks in advance :)

I have towed a trailer for the last 6 years with out problems. But I am a careful driver, My car is a heavy 4x4 santa fe it is well over the legal limit to tow my two boys. I would not tow with anything that did meet the min standard for what I was towing so for me the laden weight is about 2500 my car is 3200. It tows with ease and I feel safe when breaking. I never take any risks therefore I have not had any problems.

I also get my trailer serviced every year with out fail.

Reactions: Trewsers
It depends what you want to do with it, what sort of horses you are towing, for how far and on what sort of road and how often.

I personally don't like towing long distances on motorways but having said that towed a pony from the Midlands to the tip of Cornwall in a IW 510 towed by a Disco without any real issues. We have always had IW trailers and think they are the best to tow although they are not the lightest. If only towing locally and with one smallish horse your Freelander would cope with say a Bateson.