22yo Polish Arab - Feeding - Respiritory & Lami prone

Angie4872

Oct 14, 2011
Hi, I am shortly going to be having a beautiful 22yr old arab mare on loan for light hacking and have several questions regarding feeding.

Jessie is currently on an Alpha A mix, conditioning cubes and soaked hay 3 times a day. She is a poor doer and looses weight during the winter, although she is especially greedy! In addition to the COPD (coughing when exercising sometimes if given dry hay - but not all the time???), she had a case of lami during the spring this year and is also suffering from slight morning stiffness (bless her!).

I just wondered if I should be reviewing her diet - I know changes need to be made slowly - but as a veteran I'm concerned that she's not getting everything she needs. I also wondered about introducing haylage but heard that it may not be recommended for lami-prone horses?

Any advice gratefully received :smile:

Last edited:
Some do sucessfully feed Haylage to Lammi prone - I don't but thats because for the ammount given the little sod would soon represent a barrell! same with the other two Natives and all very good doers, Tess is a Veteran and has mild COPD,so in Winter she gets 1/2 her normal HH feed replaced with Alfa A oil (which id great for keeping weight on, also gives extra energy so worth bearing in mind as I know yours is an Arab). otherwise just general grass and hay when really bad, we are lucky out 24/7 so her hay is off the floor and not volumnes and she is not lammi prone other than we like to keep her weight down, saying that shes a bit porky at the moment and is still only on grazing with her normal maintenance feed, but once the harder weather comes that will drop.