When do you give your horse a wash?

Mackinlay

Oct 26, 2006
Australia
Hey people, this may be a stupid question, but I am wondering how often you should wash your horse. I am a complete beginner by the way!! The horse I am leasing is a tad unfit, so he seems to get quite sweaty after I ride. My instructor said to wash him after our lesson the other day, but am not sure if I should do this every time. I will ask her of course, but thought I would also get some advice from the many knowledgeable people here :)

I am guessing it is probably a judgement call ie. if only a little sweaty just sponge girth areas etc, and knowing these things will come in time. Oh, also I am in Australia and we are still having over 30 degree days, so not too cold for a bath!!!

if not too cold for a bath i would wash the horse if they are at all sweaty. most enjoy it. if only a little then just do those bits. what you've said sounds right. my horse got a bit sweaty lunging today but it was to cold to wash him so i just have to brush it out, i use luke warm water sometimes so its not such a sudden change for them. however, with 30+ degrees a nice cold baths for a horse sounds like heaven :)

It Depends is the best answer :)

In summer type weather I will hose down after all sweaty rides - no soap etc. just a good hosing.

I am not "horse proud" and tho I like a decently turned out horse I will usually only bathe out the first good hot day of spring to get rid of all the scurff and last of the shed. ANd then I MIGHT bath before a show. OTherwise I stick to a good brush out. Too much bathing can strip the coat of it's natural oils and remove some of it's waterproofing qualities. Having said that, I know of show horses who are bathed weekly.. if not more often!

I hose them in plain water when we get back from exercise in the summer and they are sweaty.

And they get a bath with detergent only before shows.