What age to back, ride away, and break in?

Midnight_Ashes

Apr 1, 2008
County Durham
I am very bored and feel like starting an interesting thread...

What do you consider to be the "correct" age to lightly back, to ride away and to break. Also, do you believe in turning away?

I am by no means an expert here but I'd say around 4 years?

I like the thought of turning away before breaking in, just to give them some time just to enjoy being horses.

Like I say, I know very little about backing/breaking, so this could be completely wrong! :redface:

With Minnie who was 3 in may this year has got to the stage of being sat on in a saddle and walking a few steps. i will probably sit on her again before leaving her on that front over winter. i will probably carry on doing lunge work with her everynow and again through winter though otherwise she gets bored and causes trouble when she is bored (she a rather cheeky new forest pony - between her and her partner in crime, a 13.2 pony they have well and truly managed to destroy the wooden gate onto the yard, currently held together with bailing twine until YO's husband has a chance to replace it! )

but she will then be sat on again next spring most likely and the plan is to get her to a couple of local shows with the 9 year old we have in mind to ride her (she loves her to bits and has already sat on her bareback and with saddle) just to get her used to stuff. she will then most likely have winter off again and then into more regular work as a 5 year old but even then it wont be too much. we are believers in slow and steady wins the race :)

Difficult one to answer I thing and one of those 'Grey' Areas.

Think it all depends on the Horse tbh, but I don't think anything should really
be backed until the minimal age of 3. Saying that both Bertie and Sioned
were backed not long after 3. Sioned hasn't done too much since and I am
in absolutely no rush, intend to sit on her a few more times, get her walking