we always canter on same lead leg

juliecwuk

Mar 2, 2006
Wolverhampton
Moet much prefers the right rein, and i think always canters on that lead when out hacking (im not very experienced with knowing which leg shes on, but getting there!)...i think we just match in that way as i prefer the right rein too and i think we naturally go on that lead when out hacking.

Anyway i was just sitting here thinking about the hack i did on wed and we had a very short unbalanced canter in the forest...i was just thinking how good she was not to buck or anything as i was clearly wonky and felt very unstable (not scared though thankfully!). And i think i just realised that she was actually cantering on the left lead and i think that why we were all over the place!

i need to teach me/her how to go on the left lead sometimes- any tips?!

First thing I would do is get her saddle fit checked and also her back and teeth - to be that very one sided could indicate pain somewhere.

Next I think the best thing is to book a few lessons with an instructor - that way you will know when you are right and when you are wrong. Otherwise you may mistake her being disunited for her attempt at left lead canter etc. Also, you can be quicker to correct her when she strikes off wrong and also you will be able to give clearer aids for the canter lead you want :)

i need to teach me/her how to go on the left lead sometimes- any tips?!

Are you talking about in the school, or on hacks??

Cantering on hacks, I wouldn't try to change her leading leg, to be honest. As you experienced, she felt very wobbly and unbalanced when she was on the left lead. Personally when I'm out hacking (at any pace, but especially cantering) my priority is leaving it to the horse to balance themselves and not interfere too much. An unbalanced canter on a hack is more likely to end in a stumble or fall, especially on fairly rough terrain. If your horse is balanced and comfortable on the right lead, why try to change it??