Using What I have Learned

B W

Jul 10, 2001
NC
Visit site
Without knowing it, I used Natural Horsemanship today. I was lucky enough to be able to go with some people to get an underfed mare and foal. The mare had a halter but the 4 mo old foal had never been touched. The goal: to get mama and baby in the trailer and take them to their new loving home. The lady at the house was not happy at our slowness! Anyway, it took us 1 1/2 hours to get this baby but after awhile, the filly started chewing and licking her lips. Actually she responded to me which thrilled me to no end. I have never done this before but was just going on what I had learned with my own horse and watching other people do it with their horses. But never with a baby. Anyway, there was one point that I thought the baby was going to come to me instead of going on the trailer with her mama. If she had done that I think I would have cried. She was so cute. I talked to her and if I said good girl once I said it a thousand times. And, also I called her girly girl, which is a stupid name for a cute horse but she seemed to like it. Whatever works. Anyway, just wanted to share that since I am on cloud nine because I was a part of this happy ending.:D

Progress of Girly Girl

Yes Karen. I'll be able to hear about her and the mare since the couple that bought them are friends. They will be well taken care of. Actually they didn't look too bad. There was a gelding that was removed the day before that was in worse condition. When they loaded him on the trailer he collapsed. As of yesterday he was not eating well so I don't know the outcome of that one yet. I will learn more of his progress this weekend. The previous owners of the horses were asked why they were so underweight and the owner said it was hard to keep weight on them in the winter. I'm in NC and it's been a nice winter here and my horses are fat and happy so that doesn't make sense. Anyway, now they have a chance at a good life.

Dear BW,