Urgent Help please for total beginner

Lulah

Feb 14, 2008
The marshlands of Essex
Hello everyone, this is going to sound a bit mad... but here goes... the owner of the Dales-type pony I have been riding occasionally over the last few months would like me to show her in hand on Sunday - yes, less then 48 hours away. I have never owned a horse and have never shown a pony in my life either in-hand or ridden, in fact I have never been in any kind of equine competition! I have watched many horse/pony classes over the years and once acted as judge's assistant to my sister who was judging the family pony class at a local show (I had to get on and ride them all which was brilliant!).
I am quite happy to have a go, but obviously don't want to make a complete idiot of myself or let down Lulah or her owner.
It's a local riding club novice show and she will be in the "Native Breeds Full and Part Bred" class.
I won't see her until the day of the show so no time to practice.
Lulah is quite a feisty pony and doesn't really like any other horses getting close (but loves people). Last year (before I knew her) she was entered in the same class at the same show and was placed until a horse got too close behind her and she tried to kick it. her owner says this year she will have to have a red ribbon.
So, how can I avoid that situation occurring again?
She has also been very strong and full of it recently (spring grass etc), I am normally pretty confident about handling her but this will make me a bit nervous about the whole thing - any advice?
Finally, i have read a lot of advice on this site about what to wear - I own absolutely nothing in the way of posh riding gear except for jodhpurs - is it really necessary to wear jackets etc at this level - what is the least I can get away with as I have no time to borrow anything?
Thank you very much for any advice.

Big massive red ribbon in her tail and then put her at the back of the entries.