Treeless saddle angst and trails

Lookn2ride

Nov 18, 2019
I just started riding my 8 yr old Icey. He was born on my property , but due to my back injury I’m just now able to ride him. I went for a trail ride with a group and had to borrow a saddle because I could not keep my new treeless saddle from slipping. I tightened girth until there was no strap left. Will it hurt my boy to get smaller girth? I’m worried about pinching him. Do I need a slip pad then my treeless pad ?
So many questions because I’m new and everyone I ride with does not understand how hard it is to find western type tack for my short backed stocky Icelandic Gelding. Any pad / girth suggestions would be appreciated

A shorter girth isn't going to hurt him, yours sounds like it's too long. I don't know much about treeless and I think the need for pads etc depends on the saddle and the horse, the best advice I can give you is to get a fitter out and make sure it fits and is correctly set up for both of you.

A shorter girth isn't going to hurt him, yours sounds like it's too long. I don't know much about treeless and I think the need for pads etc depends on the saddle and the horse, the best advice I can give you is to get a fitter out and make sure it fits and is correctly set up for both of you.
Thanks so much. I live in a very small community filled with trails to the mountains, but everyone I will be riding with has western treed saddles. I’ve been told that Icelandic horses need a treeless saddle. So upon your suggestion and what I was thinking is trying a slip pad and a smaller girth with sheepskin to avoid pinching him. He’s a young green horse and I’m a new rider, but my first trail ride was a blast

What saddle are you using is my first question?
That would help with deciding your pad.
An Icelandic horse is the same as every horse in that they need a saddle that fits, treed or treeless.

Reactions: carthorse