Training Young Horse

Silly Filly

Sep 7, 2004
Visit site
I have a 15hh, 4 1/2 year old Irish Cob mare. I would like to start lungeing her as when i ride her she does not really use herself and has a low head carriage (looks like she is about to fall asleep!!). I do not really want to use side/draw reins as i have no knowledge of how to use them. Any ideas on how i can get her to use herself and to work in an outline? Through lungeing and ridden?

Many thanks

I would lunge her as you would normally - bridle, saddle if weight on back is wanted??
Try some walk/trot/canter with her, Don't strap her head down with a martingle, or change bits if its not neccisary!

Do you have an instructor? Prehaps it may be worth getting yourself one? A young horse is ALOT of work for anyone - strike that - a horse is ALOT of work for anyone! I've had my horse since January, she's 9 and is currently out of work due to a fall we had at a jump.. We have to REALLY work with them to get a nice outline, somehorses arn't designed to be the worlds best dressage horse - note why my horse is a nightmare to do dressage with but a sweetheart to jump ;)

I would be a lot happier with a low and relaxed head carriage on a youngster than to see them tense and going around with their nose in the air...so that is not a bad start at all. I would agree with not using any gadgets, I tend to keep working them gently and find a natural headcarriage tends to develop if you keep your hands light and ask for plenty of impulsion - there will be people on here with much more advanced technical advice than that..but that is where I start with a youngster:)