Training Nervous Horse

jumpergal

Sep 7, 2008
alberta canada
I have a new 6 year old jumping horse. When I went to try him out he was great. He is sound healthy and I didn't have a problem riding him. I bought him. In August he came and I rode him 3 days after. When I started riding him he was terrible, he spooked at everything I can't go faster then a walk without him bolting off. I have tried lunging but he tries to run away, I have used every thing I read or heard about. I'm going to be scared of this horse soon if I don't do somthing!!:eek::eek::eek: Please tell me if you have heard about any training tips that might help. I'm willing to try anything.

Thanks for your help, Jumpergal

P.S. I have tried calming herbs but they didn't help.:eek:

He's still settling in, give him time and while you are doing that do loads and loads of groundwork. (Kelly Marks Perect Manners is very helpful) He needs to trust you and want to be with you, go slowly for both of you so you can maintain your trust of him too and not get scared. Good luck.

I've had my new mare since April and I would still say she is settling in and we are getting to know each other.

Last edited:
Hi,

I'm going to PM you.

Also did you have him vetted?? I am asking as the most important thing is to make sure he is well in himself, i.e back, teeth, saddle etc etc

Any of the above not being right could cause the problems you are stating,
x

sounds like he's still settling in a bit & needs to learn to trust you.

Take some time to get to know him & bond with him - spend some time with him in the field, lots of time grooming etc, talk to him so he learns your voice and knows you're going to be nice to him.