Tips for when the NH trainer comes out

annareeves0

Dec 18, 2007
Bournemouth, Dorset
I have had lots of problems with my Haffi mare Rosie since I got her early Feb and they are described in great detail in mature riders 'always pushing my buttons'.

Essentially when walking in hand she 'naps' on the way home - this involves barging, rearing, leaning on me etc.

When riding she is 'wooden mouthed' ie wont turn, bucks, pulls, can rear, does everything she can to throw you off and generally is very resistant to work etc. and after several falls I have lost all confidence and havent ridden for about 6 weeks and have been advised not to as I am a novice and she is taking the mickey.

I have decided to call in the help of Sarah Weston holder of the Monty Roberts Preliminary Certificate in Horsemanship to help me. I am looking specifically at biting (thinking of going bitless) and on reschooling in a gentler style. Rosie definately needs to go right backs to basics as she has no manners whatsoever.

The reason i am posting is that I dont really know what to expect when she gets here. Its quite a lot of money to pay out and I dont want to be ripped off! Plus as a novice i dont want to look stupid! What sort of questions should I be asking? What would you expect her to be doing as an absolute minimum?

She has already said she will look at her general condition, tack etc and advise if I need to seek additional professional help ie physio, saddler etc. She will start us off on some groundwork exercises and she provides a (no additional cost) full written report. In future sessions she would support my work with my horse at home and offer me training as and when needed or if riding problems are complex Rosie could go to her on DIY livery. What else should I be looking for?

This all seems good to me hence why I hope to go ahead but just wanted some general advice before I book the session. What are your thoughts guys? Does anyone actually know her?