The up's and down's of competing (by down I mean hitting the deck)

OwnedbyChanter

With out my boys life would be bland
Apr 16, 2009
Raininghamshire
Today was amazing.

This morning Ginger and I went off on our own for a spot of our favourite thing, dressage:)

We did a prelim 13 and novice 28. The warm up was lovely but as always I did him fall off in the arena and he dropped off my leg aids :( but no bucks and his trot was lovely.

I have never done Novice 28 with before and only learnt it the night before but the minute he entered I just knew he would be great and he felt it. Huge smiles all round.

We won the prelim 67. 92% and got a huge 70.42% in the novice. What a star. Finally our first win at dressage.

I spoke to the judge after and she was just gushing out ginger saying what a lovely partnership we make and you can see how much I adore him. Plus he was horse she would love to have taken home that day.

11150737_10153888275110616_2531189143418670385_n.jpg

The on to a SJ lesson. The jumps are getting bigger and we need to get braver. First time jumping on grass and it was scary the pace we needed to clear some of them. Ginger has a tiny collected canter and I had to really push on out of my comfort zone to make some of the distances.

This is the wall in the middle of the combination (not me jumping)

10983220_10155565708755501_7476337928948632233_n.jpg

11209759_10155565708765501_4056298899288960777_n.jpg

Unfortunately after the wall there was another large upright then a dog leg turn to planks. I didn't make the planks and had fall. opps. he spooked at them and I did not control the turn enough to make it. Straight up and vertical down to my feet.

Straight back on and over we went again clear this time.

Huge smile and amazing weekend of riding my truly fantastic ginger pony.

Now sat with a glass of wine and an ice pack on my ankle (yeap is was the same one I broke 2 years ago)