The Princess Diaries (Pony-Style)

PonyGirlAsh

Buongiorno, Principessa!
Nov 17, 2004
California, USA
www.myspace.com
Well, after seeing Daffy Dilly's thread, I thought might start my own little one of my own as I've recently started leasing a new horse - Princess :p

Princess is aptly named...from a distance and when you have any sort of food, she is a sweet little thing. But the minute that food disappears, she gets....well, pushy.

I think she is testing me to see what she can get away as I am still very new to her. She like to barge at me when I approach her in her stall without food or even just if I look at her the wrong way. I am starting to feel like I might lose my confidence if I don't step it up a little soon, as I used to lease an extremely moody mare who, if I am truthful with myself, was fairly dangerous and caused me enough grief that I eventually had to find another horse.

Anyway, I went to see the madam herself after work tonight as she majorly needed some turnout (the weather has been awful here lately and the arenas soaked until today). When I got her in the arena, I could not get that halter off fast enough! I just slipped it off when she tore around the arena (thank goodness I did get it off in time!! :eek:), snorting, bucking, the works! She got her energy out eventually so I let her just do her thing for a little while and quietly observed her. It started getting dark, so I went to bring her in...ohhhhhhh NO! SHe had none of it. Anytime I would get near her, she would refuse to be caught :rolleyes: She almost made a game of it, and I could see her smirking!

I tried a few different things - getting her to be interested in me, working her when she ran away from me (make her think it was MY idea she was running, ha!), etc etc etc. Eventually I had to resort to bribing, as the sun was pretty much gone :mad: Couple sugar cubes, and she was my best friend :rolleyes:.