Tell me about your experiences with a saddler?

Mary Poppins

Oct 10, 2004
Visit site
I have a saddler coming out to look at Bens saddle next weekend. I have no concerns about it, I just thought that I should get it checked because I want to make 100% sure that it is correct for him.

I have no experience of using a saddler and I'm not sure what to expect. Some people have told me that it is fashionable these days for a saddle to fit a gell pad underneth the saddle? This is apparently to prevent the saddle from being reflocked so often. Others have said that some saddlers like to fit a sheepskin half saddle pad underneth?

The saddler comes recommended and others on the yard have used him before. I really want him to tell me that my saddle is a good fit and not try and con me into buying another that I don't need. How do I know that what he is telling me is correct? There must be saddlers out there who make a good living from selling people saddles when they don't need them.

What happens at the check. Do I need to ride? What is he looking for and what are the sensible questions that I need to ask.

My knowledge of saddlers in thin but I can tell you the following. Yes, you will need to ride whilst the saddler is there. A good fitting saddle shouldnt need a gel or sheepskin pad under it - never heard of the idea of using one to stop having to reflock so often, but it could be true - am sure KV, PM or Wally will be able to answer that one.

I personally am wary of saddle fitters until they can prove themselves not to be crooks who are just after your cash - there are a couple round here that I wouldnt touch with a very long barge pole:stomp:

My saddler checks Joy all over to make and looks at her moving sure there are no problems.

She then takes templates of the back and compares them to the previous ones.

She looks at the saddle checking for problems and then looks at it on Joys back and then looks at it with me in it and then when I'm riding through our paces.