teaching ground manners

LexxLizz

Dec 11, 2011
If I am going to take on my friends sec d as a loan and over summer more full time I have decided (with her permission) that I am going to go back to basics and create a bond/aim to be respected and have respect with him.
I am going to see him again tomorrow and he can be very bold and pushy on the ground (he hasn't done it with me, yet) so I thought of doing some ground work focusing on manners with him.

I found this article http://www.equusite.com/articles/ground/groundRespect.shtml
That I mostly agree with and think the techniques sound good - what does everyone else think?
Also, and the more important question, how much work in this area can I do with a horse? Is it a case of little and often or could I thrash out three or four of these techniques solidly for a few hours?

Please.excuse my ignorance as I have never worked with a horse in this way before and so I'm a total newb. :redface:

I'm probably not the right person to reply as I think a lot of groundwork is basically correct handling & doesn't need to be done as a seperate exercise. Consistent handling at all times & clear boundries are something all horses understand, & what those boundries are are decided by the handler not the horse. Also confidence & calmness on the part of the handler, horses can read a bluff at a hundred paces & will react accordingly.

It depends on the horse - I usually do 20 minutes with madam - and about three with piggywig.

She copes with that long, but his little brain doesnt - and always go back to a task you are good at so you finish on a good note.