Starting a Pony vs. a horse

Horsey Chick

I love my pony!
Sep 12, 2004
Minnesnowta (MN, USA)
Visit site
Here are the Questions!

How old should a small pony be when started?

Why does it take ponies longer to develop then horses?

Can a pony be started in harness at a younger age then being started with riding?

If my pony is 520 lbs(and still growing) and I am 105lb can I train her to be ridden, when she is old enough? Can she safely carry me?

not younger than 2 1/2 better around 3 1/2 or older

I don't know the true answer to this just know it normally applies to natives and cobs

I wouldn't like to would consider the above age for any backing to take place as they have to be with you in the mind before they can cope with any work

I'm not very good at converting lbs but at a guess I would have said so, it does depend on the age build and breed of yur pony though

Dollie

My baby is suppose to be a mini! But she outgrew her (not so mini) mom and (reg. mini)dad before she was two. She's about two and a half right now and as solid as a stump. She looks sooo strong. Her legs aren't super thick, but looking at a "big" horse I'd say that they are proportional(sp?) to her body. She is about 40 inch last time a measured her, but that was a few months ago and I know she's grown.

i tihnk 105lb is light, although to be honest i am terribly bad at converting weights...

what type of pony is it? has it had a good start, been fed enough, how mature does it look? they vary enormously - some have early growth spurts and are well developed at three, others need an extra year and are only ready to be ridden at four.

it's worth waiting if you have doubts, as too much work on growing joints and bones can drastically shorten the working life and lead to arthritis or other problems at an early age.