Stage 1 Doubts

Frankie

Oct 20, 2020
Morning all,
I'm new to this forum - I've been riding on and off for many years (I'm 50) with lessons and happy hacking, I don't compete. I had my own horse for a few years and now have a part loan. I decided this year to have a go at the BHS stage 1, not that I want to enter the industry but more as a personal goal. I've been attending a BHS centre for four weeks now where we do an hours ride and an hours care. The care side I'm fine with but the riding I'm finding difficult - every horse I've had so far has been difficult, napping to the others so riding independently is not easy. It's started to erode my confidence so that as soon as I get on I feel defeated before I even start. I'm wondering if I'd be better off having a few private lessons and just going for the exam on the day rather than spending weeks battling difficult horses?

Hi. I took my BHS Stage 1 in my mid 50s, and passed at the first attempt, so it is quite do-able! The care lessons you are having will be of great value in the exam. Are the group riding lessons aimed at Stage 1 level? You need to show you can control a well behaved horse, but that would include riding independently away from the rest of the ride. The horses in your lesson should be typical for Stage 1 level. That might include some reluctance to leave the group, but not disobedience. In any case, I would recommend a few private lessons, especially on the lunge, to concentrate on your position, effectiveness and confidence. But keep on with the group rides. You will have to ride in a group in the exam, and you will be able to gauge your readiness better in that situation. Good luck.