Spending more time with horses

chestnutmares

Feb 9, 2020
Hi! Total newbie poster here, been kinda stalking the forums for a month or two and finally had a reason to make an account!
So I've been riding for a little over a year (a year in late Jan.) but was a proper pony mad kid and loved horses. After moving down south from Scotland I did a couple of weekends helping out at a riding school with the intent to do it in exchange for lessons but things didn't work out so I ended up riding at another school. Anyway, I really would like to spend more time around horses outside of lessons and have considered shares/loans but as I have limited experience (those weekends at the previous school where I didn't really learn loads other than the bare basics e.g. safety, leading kids in lessons, etc.) it isn't really a suitable option at the moment.
I'd love to help out at my current riding school or even at the old one however I'm not sure how to broach the topic or if help is even needed, and I honestly feel like a bit of a bother as my knowledge is limited! I'm willing/eager to learn but it's finding a way to go about learning that I struggle with due to anxiety issues :(

I guess this was a suuper long winded way of asking, does anyone have advice on how to learn? I was thinking about reaching out to some local rescues as I almost feel more confident speaking to strangers, but any other ideas would be 100% welcome as we don't have many that are super local (the closest I've found being 40 mins away)

He welcome to NR :D

Are you looking for time including riding or just time around horses to compliment your lessons?
Perhaps see if any RS have camp type events where they teach stable management in addition to ridden lessons? Or look at doing some of the BHS courses to develop your skills ready for that share or loan in future :)