speedy pony...help!

Abserd

Apr 12, 2007
West Yorks
www.backlanestables.co.uk
Hello! Not posted for a while and couldn't decide where to post this but as i am a mature rider who generally gets the ponies..i'm afraid it's you lot that'll have to put up with me :eek:

I've been riding at my RS for nearly 4 years now and since i did a spectacular somersault off a big chunky cob last year and hurt myself a bit :eek: the YO who is our main RI said i was overhorsed and got me on the ponies. So for months now i've been getting used to Star, a 5 year old, fell/dales type mare who is still growing, is very bum high and has no shoulders to speak of! I'm getting used to her quirks and it's been a challenge as i've found it hard to trust her due to my own fears. She's a cracking little pony, i've hacked out on her quite a bit and am even learning to jump.

But last night it all went a bit flat again and i'm struggling to understand it. I have a lot of problems with anxiety and my RI is always on at me to be more positive. Do other RS riders feel that with only one lesson a week that it takes some time to settle in each lesson? On top of that i was away last week so have missed a lesson. The first canter was horrific :( and i ended up getting a canter on the long side so she was on the wrong leg and i got told off. My RI as great as she is, often puts me on edge with her voice and things she says. I know she has to be strict but i was feeling pretty fragile last night (just lost my job) and my mind wasn't really on the job as it were!