Sore Hands...

nat17

Minnie, Sam and Dolly
May 30, 2002
Cotswolds
Visit site
Does anyone have any recommendations for a cream for chapped horsey hands?
I am forever getting my hands wet at the yard and removing gloves and washing my hands 50 times a day, finally today i have cracks in my skin that really hurt now!:(

I dont do lotion, for some reason I spend 30mins a morning putting cream on podges legs but not spare the time to do the same for me! I dont own any creams! But I am off to buy some tomorrow, so just looking for a good one;)

I used to have really bad cracked hands, especially my fingers and knuckles. For the last couple of years I have found that Aqueous Cream is just brill. I buy a huge tup from the chemist about £5. and it lasts ages.

Tried & Tested and it works and it's not greasy:)

Can totally recommend Lotil. Just ask for it at the chemist's. It lasts for ages 'cos you only need a wee bit. I've been using it for 2 years now (AFTER yarding!) and it's fabby!

Mags

I where gloves to bed when my hands are red and scaly. I out the alveno cream in them and I wake up and my hands are ready for riding!!!!!!!!!!!

I use either Palmer's Cocoa Butter or Vaseline Intensive Care, my hands have been so dry they went orange but never had cracked/chapped skin.

But Neutrogena stuff is supposed to have been developed for sailors so that may be worth a try!

I don't know if it's sold in the UK, but I use A&D Original Ointment (Don't tell anybody, but it's supposed to be used for diaper rash :D ). One tube goes a long way. You just smear on a big dollop before bed, rub it around a bit on the backs of your hands, put socks on your hands (it's sticky-you can't wear it like regular lotion), and voila! In the morning, your hands are super-soft and happy!!

I would get the neutrogena stuff as I find all the others sting when I have really chapped hands. Its really concentrated so a little goes a long way. Worth getting.

Attachments

• handcream.jpg
    handcream.jpg