silly question about loaning

silverstar

Jan 26, 2012
hey guys,

right bit of background...I started riding about 2 years ago and then looked after my friends horses for the weekend (had a few lessons on them) and since then have never gone back to riding school horses :) I just loved the fact they are more of a challenge, and that you can get to know a horse and really make a fuss over them. Anyhow, I decided about 6 months ago that I wanted to loan a horse, but because I work a lot of hours I decided to part loan a horse who is on full livery. I pay 30 a month for 2 days (sometimes 3), and I just do basic things like groom, pick out feet, tack up and ride. My reason for this was that I was unsure how much free time I would have and knowing how much my friend had been let down by loaners in the past (she has a really good one now), I didn't want to do the same. Anyhow, I have now got to the stage where I realise I do have the time to part loan 2-3 days a week but with a horse on DIY. I have found that I do have the time, and can put in the commitment that is required. I have been honest with people, told them that I have only been learning for 2 years and i'm not the best rider ever, but I'm willing to learn and improve. I've had a few responses. Now the qu I want to ask on here is regarding time- when i look after my friends horses, i muck them out in a morning, feed etc then just a quick tidy round in the afternoon. she likes it that way. Now if i loan a horse, one of those days will be on a work day, would it be okay to muck out in the evening and just feed in the morning, or will the owner expect me to muck out in the morning? i know this is a silly qu, it's not that i can't be bothered getting up out of bed early either- as I start work early :)