SchoolMasters

Nookster

Oct 21, 2002
From PatchyPonys thread asking us to describe certain words/terms used around horses the one I pick up on the most is the term 'Schoolmaster' and how it is interpreted very differently.

http://www.newrider.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1515774#post1515774

I personally interpret is as

Educated and experienced horse. Sometimes in all disciplines, sometimes in a chosen discipline.
I do not class a horse termed as a school master as suitable for ‘any’ rider sadly although the term schoolmaster makes them sound like a novice ride.

Schoolmaster for me is more the horse knows their job has done well at their discipline and can help a rider that knows how to ask correctly get further. If that makes sense.

Yet others always see a schoolmaster as a push button ride, a novices ride ?

i alays used to think of it as meaning a horse typical of your riding school patent-safety type. as bombproof as can be, suitable for complete novice. I realise now it doesnt always mean that...

I tend to think of it as a horse that when asked correctly and ridden well will perform well above novice level, but will also be safe and sure when a novice is on board

When I brought my fella I thought it meant that it was a good first horse for a novice, but he was advertised as 'confidence giving schoolmaster' and I was completly honest about my abilities. Only now do I realise that he is a school master because he knows exactly what he is doing (when I ask right!) and the confidence giving bit... well... lets just say he's hiding it well!

a schoolmaster is not a novice ride. its a horse that is experienced in a certain discipline, maybe an ex competition horse. for example a teenaged advanced dressage horse who no longer competes, but is used to teach other riders to reach this level.

so say riders learning to ride extended trot, half pass etc. not riders lreaning how to walk,trot etc.