Saddle Recommendations for my new girl

Vicki100

Jun 12, 2009
West Mids
Okay so as you all know i brought a new mare a week ago...:biggrin:

But i need a decent saddle for her so hoping you guys could give me some recommendations!

She came with a crappy rhinegold synthetic saddle, which i would really like to chuck on the fire right now! Horrid cheap crap! :ninja:

Its way to long for her back and sitting too low IMO (Although i am no expert!) please feel free to correct me. I imagine it must be at least a 17" seat, which is too big for both of us. I usually fit into 16-16.5's quite nicely.

I have no idea what width she would be, she is a fine built Welsh B X around 13.1h with fairly big withers and big shoulders. Also not sure what length of saddle she could take?

Ideally if i had the money i would get her a custom made saddle like Finnley has. But right now i just havent got that much cash although i aim to get her one when ive saved up some money again.
So in the mean time id like somthing decent and well fitting!

I really really like the saddle company saddles, but have no idea what size i would get for her :unsure: They are only in up the road from in Walsall so i guess i could give them a bell...does anyone know how much they cost new?

Would i be able to buy one off ebay and ask for one of there reps to come & fit it? But then i wouldnt have a clue what size seat to get?

Confused.Com! :redface:

Yuck Yuck here it is....:cold:
cbe3c628.jpg

The day i got her, not the best pic really. She looks a bit odd lol!
b667e53a.jpg

Slightly better....after a few days of good grub hehe! She needs muscling up a fair bit...
DSC_0683.jpg

Nasty saddle in action...makes me do the chair position
DSC_0568.jpg

DSC_0555.jpg

Help! :smile:

Last edited: