Saddle for Heavy Weight Gypsy Cob

Cat1980

Sep 9, 2007
Hi

The horse I have on loan has a treeless saddle which has been fine but since the horse has lost weight through exercise it is slipping and even a smaller gurth doesnt seem to be steadying it. Also My instructor has said I need to get an ordinary saddle to progress further. I am totally new to all of this and dont know where to start. I dont want to pay alot as he is only on part loan but know the importance of getting the saddle right. Can any one offer advice about measuring and any reputable dealers in 2nd hand saddles?

I have a young chunky traditional cob that is constantly changing shape- saddle that i found fits him is a Thorowgood T4 Cob General purpose saddle- as you can change the inserts it fits him all year round and i have never had a problem with it slipping!
Also as it is a synthetic saddle it didn't break the bank- i think mine cost £250 or something like that new but i guess you could get a second hand one pretty cheaply!
I had just a regular saddle fitter come out and measure him for a saddle- he only charged £30 for his time and often they will have second hand saddles that are for sale that may fit!

My instructor has said I need to get an ordinary saddle to progress further.
That seems quite an odd piece of advice.... did s/he explain why? Is it a genuine issue that the design of saddle isn't helping, or their attitude to treeless?
I haven't had enough experience of different saddles to give much advice, but I would hesitate to put the horse in a treed saddle on the say so of one RI, especially if it isn't my horse. Have you talked to the horse's owner about it? I'm not disputing that the present saddle needs changing, but perhaps you could research other treeless styles too.