Riding lessons

Bilbo2009

Jul 17, 2009
Hampshire
Could people please give me some advice.
I am 24 and been riding since was 16. I moved riding schools once as wasn't learning to canter at other one. Am not sure what rider I would class myself as ie noice or intermediate. I can walk, trot both sitting and rising, trot without stirups (am a bit rusty on that), canter and jump small jumps. But I can't ride spooky horses, bucking or rearing ones as I can be a nervous rider. Could you please give me some advice on what level I am at and how to get more confident riding

Sarah

Hi, and welcome! I am no expert, but it sounds to me like you might be a novice, just like many of us :rolleyes: All I can suggest to help you get more confident is more riding. Do you hack out, and do you ride different horses? Once I got to a stage where I felt that my greatest need was just more riding time, rather than just more lessons, I found myself a share horse - best thing I ever did :D. Now I can cope with spooks and planting and general sillyness without panicking.

Hi, i'm 15 and i can pretty much do that same as you (walk trot canter jump etc) except im more or less fine with some spooky horses. and i consider myself an in intermidiate. i would think that you would be an intermediate too, because i think a novice would be someone who can walk trot and just starting to canter.

if you came to me i would put you in a novice, intermediate i but as someoone who can canter independentaly
because you said you can canter, but wasnt learning to at the other place is a bit of a missconception, because if you could canter you shouldnt be a lesson that teaches only walk and trot. and if your jumping then you should be able to work without striups in walk, trot and canter. (unless this was a long time ago ie when you started then i would think more intermediate but would suggest an assement like the RI decide)