riding holidays

baltitude

Oct 13, 2007
Has anyone been on a really good riding holiday (in UK or Europe) where you are taught general horsemanship as well as riding? And where nervous novices are welcome? I am looking for a week of immersion in all things horsey to up my confidence - natural horsemanship style preferably. Any ideas?

If Natural Horsemanship is what your looking for...........

I went here: www.mmgranch.net

Opened my eyes to NH, and they cater for novice to experienced. I'm a novice at NH but I've been riding for 30 years. The same week I was there, a couple from the city who had never even seen a horse where also there having a great time learning to ride.

I can't praise these people enough:D

I can vouch for Valley Farm in Suffolk. It's not particularly geared towards natural horsemanship but small parts of it are. They teach you flatwork, western, side saddle, jumping, xc, horseball, polocrosse etc, take you out hacking, carriage driving, give lectures/demonstrations on different areas of horse care (such as first aid, lunging, long reining etc) and how to start youngsters (using NH methods). I loved it and couldn't recommend the place more highly. They also have a huge variety of horses so can cater for any level of rider.